top of page

Halal Options? Why are they usually Unhealthy options?

We Need more Halal and Healthy!

“Let’s get halal!”

“Nah bro, It’s too greasy”

The other day, I forgot to take lunch from home and in a couple hours the hunger pangs kicked in. So fine, I go on my favorite meal delivery app and search up halal, since for us Muslims if we’re not feeling vegan we have to find our protein…usually chicken/lamb/beef.

Pop goes the list…

Chicken over rice

Burgers and fries

Truck one

Truck two

Truck three

Oh wait, there’s an Indian restaurant…nope 23 bucks for home food.. No thank you!

Why is it that in our wonderful city of New York City, we have such a large group of Muslims but not a lot of options. We are left with the lower end of food quality when it comes to your lunch time fix. Truck food and deep fried is not sustenance!

In the Muslim tradition, we are taught to eat in moderation and eat well, as in consume food and drink that are good for you. Trust me, I am not saying that trucks and these restaurants are bad, I’m just saying that we NEED more HALAL HEALTHY options. Some Halal trucks introduced a chicken salad option but a bowl of iceberg lettuce topped off with a slice of cucumber, slice of tomato and few pieces of chicken is not a filling option.

My main point is we need to start a movement towards making our Halal options healthier and available.

“Eat of the good things, and do righteousness Deeds” [Qur’an 23:51]


Comments


Zishan Logo 01 (2).png

Nice Seeing You Again!

Hi, I'm Zishan, a healthcare worker, a thinker and public health professional that spends way too much time analyzing the world around us. I love studying about health and wellness, and living my life to find BALANCE AND BARAKAH

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page